Desperation

My desperation leads me to realize that failing is a battle one needs to overcome, and to prepare us for greatness.

All of us must have failed at least once, or twice. We failed in our relationships, in academics, in our dreams, marriage perhaps, or we have failed our parents, expectations from our peers; and it leads us to desperation. Desperation to move out from the phase that is not comfortable, shameful, depressing, and all the negative feelings the world has. No one is an exemption to it. I am not exempted to it.

I’ve failed countless times. I failed in my academics most often, I’ve lost so many tournaments, I failed my mom’s expectations of me, and I’ve failed my mentor’s expectations. As I journeyed and bounced back from all these failures, I always end up bringing loot full of lessons and realizations.

*     *    *     *     *

Whenever you have someone whom you looked up to, you always wanted to be like them, or follow their footsteps.

Recently, I took a license exam for Sanitary Design. I’ve always wished to become an Architect-slash-Sanitary Designer because one of the teachers I looked up to during college is one. I took my chances. I studied diligently, I poured my time and heart into it. Everyone was hopeful, I was hopeful. Few days after the exam, the results came out. Almost everyone of my friends passed, a few failed. I’m one of the few who failed.

It broke my heart.

“We all at certain times in our lives find ourselves broken. True Strength is found in picking up the pieces.”

In these brokenness, the people around me encourages me to remember Walt Disney, Thomas Edison, George Washington Carver and to “Keep Moving Forward”, to never feel down and let my head held high and march on.

 

Great men and inventions are not made overnight, nor made in a single try. I am still starting the marathon, if I never march on, I will never pass the finish line.

We are all beginners in the course named life, there will be a lot of hurdles to make, a lot of bullies to overcome, and a lot more lessons to learn. Let’s march on, let us not be quitters.

March on.

Tagged , ,

Leave a comment